I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2008 (SECOND) Regular Session

Executive Committee Resolution No. 216

Introduced by:

Edward J.B. Calvo James V. Espaldon <u>Frank F. Blas, Jr.</u> B. J.F. Cruz Mark Forbes Judith Paulette Guthertz, DPA Frank T. Ishizaki J. A. Lujan Tina Rose Muña Barnes A. B. Palacios, Sr. v. c. pangelinan R. J. Respicio Dr. David L.G. Shimizu Ray Tenorio J. T. Won Pat, Ed. D.

Relative to commending Ms. Linda Caasi, 2007 to 2008 outgoing President of the Bolinao-Bani Association of Guam, the Officers, and the Board of Directors for their contributions to the betterment of our island, and to congratulating Mr. Peter Pascual on his election as the 2008 to 2009 incoming President of the Association during its "Nineteenth (19th) Anniversary Celebration".

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I 1 MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN: 2

3

WHEREAS, the Bolinao-Bani Association of Guam was established in 1989, aimed at fostering unity and closer relations among Bolinao-Bani 4 5 members and the various ethnic groups residing on our island, preserving the 6 cherished Filipino traditions of its members, to consistently improve and 7 promote social, civic and cultural activities and conserve the bonds of 8 friendship with the people of Guam; and

9 WHEREAS, the Bolinao-Bani Association of Guam has taken an active participation in tirelessly providing financial assistance in cultural affairs, 10 11 civic endeavors, and in educational projects, all of which serve to benefit the people of Guam and the Philippines, looking to the future and working 12 13 towards the progress of our island; and

WHEREAS, the Bolinao-Bani Association of Guam exemplifies the 14 15 qualities of compassion and generosity in providing financial assistance to 16 victims of various calamities on Guam and in assisting the members' 17 homeland in times of natural calamities; and

18 WHEREAS, the Bolinao-Bani Association of Guam adopted the Liguan 19 Terrace Park No. 2 to enhance a place of oneness, providing its members and 20 the community an opportunity to relax, get-together, and further promote 21 camaraderie; and

22 WHEREAS, under the leadership of Ms. Linda Caasi and her initiative 23 and desire to serve the members of the Association in harmony, the mission will continue with the incoming President Peter Pascual, a dynamic young
man with good foresight and aggressiveness; and

3 WHEREAS, the Balinao-Bani Association of Guam continues to serve as 4 an invaluable resource upon which the island's future can be built and that 5 warrants recognition and commendation; and

6 WHEREAS, the Balinao-Bani Association of Guam has continued to 7 provide much needed voluntary donations to the American Red Cross, the 8 American Cancer Society, and other non-profit organizations in need of both 9 monetary and humanitarian assistance; now, therefore, be it

10 **RESOLVED**, that the Executive Committee of I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the 11 people of Guam, commend Ms. Linda Caasi, outgoing President, and the 12 13 Officers and the Board of Directors of the Bolinao-Bani Association of Guam, for their contributions to our island community, and does congratulate Mr. 14 Peter Pascual on his election as the incoming President of the Balinao-Bani 15 Association of Guam during its "Nineteenth (19th) Anniversary Celebration"; 16 17 and be it further

18 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Executive 19 Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption 20 hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Ms. Linda 21 Caasi, outgoing President, Bolinao-Bani Association of Guam; to Mr. Peter 22 Pascual, incoming President of the Bolinao-Bani Association of Guam; to the 23 Honorable Bayani S. Mercado, Philippine Consulate General of Guam; and to 24 the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, *I Maga'lahen Guåhan*. DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE 13^{TH} DAY OF JUNE 2008.

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES Acting Speaker and Chairperson, Executive Committee

RORY J. RESPICIO Senator and Acting Secretary of the Legislature